Sign In

Vladimir Pligin, member of the Presidium of the Association of Lawyers of Russia, became a laureate of the prize named after V.A.Tumanov

On 1st December 2017 during the ceremony marking the Day of the Lawyer, Vladimir Pligin, member of the Presidium of the Association of Lawyers of Russia, became a laureate of the prize named after V.A.Tumanov.
Vladimir Pligin, politician and statesman, became the winner of the award for significant contribution to the development of constitutional law of Russia, for achievements in law-making activity regulating constitutional system’s foundations, the state building, the system of governmental bodies.
Vladimir Piligin's legal career began to actively develop in the mid-1990s, when he received the status of an advocate and took part in a number of resonant criminal trials. In 2003 he was elected to the State Duma of the Russian Federation and to the position of chairman of the State Duma’s Committee on Constitutional Legislation and State Building. He headed the same Committee at the Fifth and Sixth convocations of the State Duma.
Under the chairmanship of Vladimir Pligin the Committee developed a number of important bills in the field of constitutional law, including constitutional justice, aimed at improving the mechanisms for protecting the legitimate individual rights, freedoms and interests.
Mr Pligin is the author of a number of articles and books aimed at developing the theory and practice of constitutional-procedural law.
The prize named after V.A.Tumanov was established in accordance with the Decree of the President of the Russian Federation of 13 September 2011 No.1196 “On Perpetuation of the Memory of V.A. Tumanov”, to commemorate the outstanding Russian legal scholar Vladimir Alexandrovich Tumanov (1926-2011). The prize is the form of appreciation of achievements in the fields of constitutional justice, constitutional (state) law of the Russian Federation and foreign countries, European law, and comparative law.  
The members of the Committee on awarding the prize choose a laureate by preferential voting. The founders of the prize are the Constitutional Court of the Russian Federation, the Supreme Court of the Russian Federation, All-Russian Non-governmental organisation “The Association of lawyers of the Russian Federation”.
The first laureate of the V.A.Tumanov prize was named in 2012. Director of the Institute of Legislation and Comparative Law under the Government of the Russian Federation, Vice-President of the Russian Academy of Science Talia Khabrieva became the first laureate. In 2013 professor of the Moscow Law Academy named after O.E.Kutafin Vyacheslav Maklakov became the laureate, in 2014 – doctor of law, professor Vladimir Fadeev (post mortem). In 2015 the prize was awarded to the head of the Department of the Ministry of Justice of the Russian Federation in the Republic of Tatarstan, professor Viktor Demidov, in 2016 - doctor of law, professor Boris Strashun.

01 December 2017

© Constitutional Court of the Russian Federation, 2008-2018